Skip to Main Content
Chapter: 1 Introduction (08:33)
Chapter 2: Setting Up Access and Permissions (03:59)
Chapter 3: The Big Picture: Record Loading (19:59)
Six Record Loading Methods
A basic review of Data Exchange, Scheduler, Z39.50, Interactive Loading, APIs
Video length 08:59 (min:sec)
Record Loading Diagrams
An overview of record loading using Data Exchange in Sierra and Millennium. Video length 11:00 (min:sec)
Chapter 4: Record Structure (11:14)
Chapter 5: Files You Edit and Files You Load (15:11)
Files You Edit
An overview of the three types of files you learn to create and edit in this course. Video length 04:10 (min:sec)
Files You Load
An overview of data files in Data Exchange. Video length 11:01 (min:sec)
Chapter 6: Load tables - m2btab explained (01:11:22)
What is a load table?
Purpose and overall structure of m2btab load tables. Video length 06:08 (min:sec)
Special characters in load tables
Characters with special meaning in m2btab load tables -- #, %, @ Video length 04:04 (min:sec)
Adding notes to load tables
Annotating your m2btab load table. Video length 02:55 (min:sec)
Element 1, MARC Tag
Specifying MARC tags to load. Video length 05:11 (min:sec)
Element 2, New MARC Tag
Changing MARC tag during load. Video length 01:35 (min:sec)
Element 3, Subfields
Many options for loading subfield data plus "T" value to insert a new constant string into records. Video length 13:23 (min:sec)
Element 4, Offset
Offset position and loading data from positional fields (Leader, 006-008). Video length 04:01 (min:sec)
Element 5, Byte Count
Number of bytes to take from Offset or Subfield. Video length 03:16 (min:sec)
Element 6, Record Type
Record type tag, e.g. "b" for Bibliographic. Video length 05:02 (min:sec)
Element 7, Variable Field Group Tag
Variable field group tag, e.g., "t" for Title. Video length 03:41 (min:sec)
Element 8, Fixed-Length Field Number
Fixed-length field number, e.g., "30" for Material Type. Video length 05:08 (min:sec)
Element 9, MARC or Non-MARC Indicator
Specifying if data loads as MARC or non-MARC. Video length 05:34 (min:sec)
Element 10, Permanence
No longer relevant as an instruction, but I can tell you what it was used for. Video length 00:56 (min:sec)
Element 11, Pass Indicator
Number that corresponds to record type(s) loaded. Video length 03:57 (min:sec)
Element 12, Function or Note
Global (@), Special Processing (%), Command Line (#) instructions, or notes. Video length 06:31 (min:sec)
Chapter 7: Load tables – m2btab global settings (@) (02:02:53)
What are Global Variable Functions?
An overview of Global Variable Functions in m2btab load tables. Video length 05:06 (min:sec)
Overlaying records
An overview of overlaying records. Video length 06:48 (min:sec)
@ov_tag - Matching records using indexed data
Phrase index rules and index tags. How to match incoming and database records using @ov_tag, @m2b_normalize_020, @ov_tag Confirmation Tests ([ov_245]).How to load with NO matching (as insertions, as NEW records). Video length 16:29 (min:sec)
@ldx - Matching records using Innovative record no.
How to match incoming and database records using @ldx and @ov_rec_number. Video length 06:47 (min:sec)
@ov_action - Action to take after matching records
Describing Insert, Attach, Reject, Overlay actions per number of matches (0, 1 or 2 or more) using @ov_action. Video length 05:19 (min:sec)
@ov_protect - Protecting fields from overlay
Protecting fields from overlay. Preventing duplicate fields using overlay protect options :d and :k in @ov_protect. Video length 10:15 (min:sec)
@locmerge - Protecting bibliographic location codes
How to protect bibliographic location codes using @locmerge and @ov_protect. Video length 03:23 (min:sec)
@locmerge - Merging bibliographic location codes
How to merge bibliographic location codes using @locmerge. Video length 13:22 (min:sec)
@busy - Busy record handling - Millennium only
Options for busy record handling using @busy and @busy_file. Video length 03:21 (min:sec)
Assigning dates automatically
Assigning today's date to fixed-length fields using @cdate, @odate, @rdate. Video length 03:23 (min:sec)
@dflt - Assigning default values in fixed-length fields
Importance of Record Templates in record loads and how to setup @dflt. Video length 05:29 (min:sec)
@link - Attaching records to bibliographic records
Using @link to attach items, checkins/holdings, orders to bibliographic records. Video length 10:54 (min:sec)
Specifying character coding or character set (diacritics)
Specifying character coding of incoming MARC records using @diac_sub_table or @leader_utf8. Video length 09:06 (min:sec)
Acquisition-specific global settings
Using @password, @poprint, @m2b_multifund in bibliographic and order load tables. Video length 07:44 (min:sec)
Chapter 8: Load tables – m2btab for interactive loading (14:34)
Chapter 9: Load tables – m2btab special processing functions (%) (24:06)
Chapter 10: Translation tables - m2bmap explained (27:23)
Chapter 11: Using the Load Profile Editor (42:11)
Chapter 12: Data Exchange (22:25)
What is Data Exchange?
An overview of Data Exchange include how to access Data Exchange. How to set a Data Exchange process to display. Video length 03:23 (min:sec)
Transferring and Prepping Data Files
Transferring files to using "Get PC" of "Get FTS" and Prepping files in Data Exchange Video length 03:15 (min:sec)
Viewing, Counting, Searching a MARC File
How to view records, count records and MARC tags, searching content. Identifying the location of a MARC record by Offset or Block Number. Video length 06:01 (min:sec)
Loading MARC Records
How to load MARC records using Test and Live modes. Loading by Block Number and Maximum Number of Records to Load. Use Review Files radio button. Video length 09:46 (min:sec)
Chapter 13: Starting a Load Profile Project (13:35)
Starting a Load Profile Project
How to get started on a load profile project. Review of sections in the Load Profile Training Manual -- Profiling from Start to Finish; Issues to be considered when creating a new load table. Video length 03:12 (min:sec)
Data Analysis
What is data analysis? Benefits of data analysis. A demonstration of data analysis. An example of a data dictionary. Video length 10:23 (min:sec)
Chapter 14: Profiling from Start to Finish - Demonstration of Real World Projects (01:28:04)
Match and Attach Items Project
In this real world project, a load profile is created to "match and attach" item records. Includes protecting bibliographic Location fields. Video length 39:17 (min:sec)
Delete and Insert Bibliographic Field Project
In this real world project, a load profile is created to delete the 856 field in database records and insert the 856 field in the incoming MARC records using @ov_attach_delete and @ov_attach_insert. Includes protecting bibliographic Location fields. Video length 23:57 (min:sec)
Load Patron Records as NEW Project
In this real world project, a load profile is created to load patron records as NEW (as inserts). Includes loading from a single MARC tag into two non-MARC fields; creating a constant string in the Note field (Element 3 has "T"); setting Start Block to a number other than 1 in order to test load a record that is not the first record in file; writing records to a review file in Create Lists using Use Review Files radio button; setting Maximum Number of Records to Load. Video length 24:50 (min:sec)
Chapter 15: Conclusion (05:17)
